ASEAN Framework Agreement On Intellectual Property Cooperation

On 15 December 1995 in Bangkok, Thailand, the governments of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and

Viet Nam, signed the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation.

This Agreement recognises the important role of intellectual property rights in the conduct of trade and the flow of investment among the Member States of ASEAN and the importance of cooperation in intellectual property in the region, as well as expressed a desire to foster closer cooperation in the field of IP and related fields to provide a firm basis for economic progress, the realisation of the ASEAN Free Trade Area and prosperity among the ASEAN Member States.

The Agreement also recognised the need to promote closer cooperation and understanding among the countries in the region in the field of intellectual property and related fields to contribute to regional dynamism, synergy and growth.

For the full text of the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation, please click here.


The ASEAN Working Group on Intellectual Property Cooperation (AWGIPC) is the sectoral group responsible for IP issues in the region. It is composed of the IP offices of the ASEAN Member States, namely Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Viet Nam.

The AWGIPC was established in 1996, pursuant to the ASEAN Framework Agreement on Intellectual Property Cooperation, which was signed by ASEAN Member States in Bangkok, Thailand in 1995.

The work of the AWGIPC is based on the ASEAN IPR Action Plan 2011-2015.

Protection of intellectual property rights stimulates creativity and innovation, which in turn spurs progress in industries and leads to national development.

Through the AWGIPC, ASEAN has made concerted efforts since 1996 to improve the regional framework of policies and institutions relating to intellectual property.

About the ASEAN IP Portal

The ASEAN IP Portal ( was launched by Thailand in April 2013, in conjunction with World IP Day 2013. Comprising information on ASEAN IP systems, comparative IP-related data, and web links to ASEAN IP Offices, stakeholders of ASEAN Member States can now obtain IP information for the entire ASEAN region via a consolidated platform. This one-stop portal facilitates information flow within the region's IP knowledge network and enables stakeholders to access relevant information such as notices and procedures in a more efficient manner.

It is currently hosted and managed by Singapore, who will be introducing new features to enhance the portal over time. Examples include an electronic application form for the ASEAN Patent Examination Co-operation (ASPEC) platform to help patent applicants obtain high quality search and examination results more quickly in ASEAN and ASEAN TMview, a powerful tool to search for information on trademark registrations and trademark applications that have effect in the participating ASEAN countries.

Comments and feedback on the portal are welcomed and should be directed to

ASEAN IPR Action Plans

AWGIPC Chairmanship

The list of AWGIPC Chairmanship, from 1998 to the present, is as follows:

No. Country Period
1 Philippines February 1998 – July 2000
2 Singapore July 2000 – July 2006
3 Malaysia July 2006 – June 2009
4 Philippines June 2009 – July 2011
5 Thailand July 2011 – July 2013
6 Singapore July 2013 – July 2015
7 Brunei July 2015 – July 2017
Indonesia  July 2017 - Present

Copyright © 2017 ASEAN IP All Rights Reserved