The Special Session of the ASEAN Working Group on Intellectual Property Cooperation (AWGIPC) was held using Videoconferencing Platform from 8-9 July 2020. This was the first online meeting for AWGIPC since it was established 26 years ago in 1996. The meeting was chaired by Dr Le Ngoc Lam, Deputy Director General, Intellectual Property Office of Viet Nam (IP Viet Nam), Ministry of Science and Technology. It was the first AWGIPC meeting attended by two new IP Office Heads, Director General of IP Office of the Philippines (IPOPHL) Mr. Rowel S. Barba, and the Chief Executive (Designate) of IP Office of Singapore (IPOS) Mrs. Rena Lee. It was also the last AWGIPC meeting attended by outgoing Chief Executive of IPOS, Mr. Daren Tang before he leaves to take up the Director General post in World IP Organization (WIPO), Geneva later this year.

The Meeting provided updates on the Mid Term Review & Status of IPR Action Plan Deliverables, Task Forces, and Covid-19 Measures taken by AMS. There were also consultation sessions with dialogue partners such as WIPO, European Patent Office (EPO), and United Kingdom Intellectual Property Office (UKIPO). The Japan Patent Office (JPO) Heads' Meeting, led by Commissioner Akira Matsunaga, was also held on the sidelines.